Byrne cleared to play for Wales

Guinness PRO12 Editor

2 Feb 2010


News, Ospreys

Wales have been boosted by the news that Ospreys full back Lee Byrne’s two match ban has been over turned which means he will be available for selection for the opening round of the RBS 6 Nations championship on Saturday.

An Independent Appeal Committee sitting in Glasgow today, allowed the appeal brought by Byrne against the level of sanction imposed by an independent Disciplinary Hearing.

The appeal was against the level of sanction imposed by the original independent Disciplinary Hearing on Friday, 29 January, 2010, who had found Byrne guilty of a Misconduct Complaint arising from the Heineken Cup round 6 match against Leicester Tigers at the Liberty Stadium on Saturday, 23 January, 2010, in that he had re-entered the pitch without the referee’s permission and that he knew or ought to have known that he needed that permission.

The Independent Appeal Committee, chaired by Rod McKenzie (Scotland) and also comprising Professor Lorne Crerar (Scotland) and Bill Dunlop (Scotland), found that Byrne had demonstrated that the original decision had been in error and the sanction should be varied to a fine of €5,000.