DFP Header Area

Leinster team to face Aironi

Guinness PRO12 Editor

22 Apr 2011

The Leinster team to face Aironi in Saturday afternoon’s Magners League clash at the Stadio Luigi Zaffanella (KO: 2.30pm local) has been named.

Brian O’Driscoll leads a team which has a blend of youth and experience for the trip to Italy and he partners Eoin O’Malley at centre with Fergus McFadden reverting to the right wing. The back three is completed by full-back David Kearney, who is in line to make his 11th appearance of the season (which includes four league tries) and Luke Fitzgerald.

Eoin Reddan links up at half-back with 22-year-old Ian Madigan who is making his 15th appearance of the current campaign.

In the pack, Cian Healy and Mike Ross form the front row alongside hooker Jason Harris-Wright with Devin Toner starting alongside Scotland’s Nathan Hines at second row. Ireland trio Shane Jennings, Sean O’Brien and Rhys Ruddock make up the back row.

Shane Horgan, who scored two tries in the 34-26 victory over Ulster last weekend, is one of four Ireland internationals on the replacements bench including Isaac Boss, Leo Cullen and Jonathan Sexton.


15: David Kearney
14: Fergus McFadden
13: Brian O’Driscoll CAPTAIN
12: Eoin O’Malley
11: Luke Fitzgerald
10: Ian Madigan
9: Eoin Reddan

1: Cian Healy
2: Jason Harris-Wright
3: Mike Ross
4: Devin Toner
5: Nathan Hines
6: Rhys Ruddock
7: Shane Jennings
8: Sean O’Brien


16: Richardt Strauss
17: Heinke van der Merwe
18: Stan Wright
19: Leo Cullen
20: Dominic Ryan
21: Isaac Boss
22: Jonathan Sexton
23: Shane Horgan

REFEREE: Andrew McMenemy (SRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Mauro Dordolo, Claudio Blessano (both FIR)