DFP Header Area

Extended Connacht squad to face the Warriors

Guinness PRO12 Editor

3 May 2012

Connacht Rugby have announced an extended squad to face Glasgow Warriors this weekend for the season finale at Firhill. (Firhill – Saturday 5th May – kick-off 19.15 live on TG4)

With favourable results from Leinster and Ulster last weekend, Heineken Cup rugby will be returning to the Sportsground for a second successive season. In the RaboDirect PRO12, good performances have been converted into wins, and victory in Firhill would be a fourth in succession. The Dragons and Ulster were convincingly defeated, and a last-gasp 55 metre penalty from Matt Jarvis ensured a victory over Aironi last time out.

The recent upsurge in-form has been aided by a resolute defence that has conceded only six tries in the past four games. This improved performance in defensive duties has also seen a reduction in penalties conceded. The offensive threat has become increasingly potent, with an average of twenty three points scored in each game.

Connacht go into the match in buoyant form, unbeaten against the hosts in the last three encounters. The home fixture against Glasgow this season ended in a draw, a late Niall O'Connor penalty sharing the spoils in a compelling thirteen all draw. Last season saw Connacht achieve the double over the Warriors, with a memorable victory in the corresponding fixture, the team's first away win in over two years.

Connacht squad to face Glasgow (Firhill – Saturday 5th May – kick-off 19.15 live on TG4)

Gavin Duffy ©, Fetu'u Vainikolo, Tiernan O'Halloran, James Loxton, Kyle Tonetti, Eoin Griffin, Henry Fa'afili, Miah Nikora, Jack Carty, Matthew Jarvis, Paul O'Donohoe, Frank Murphy

Ethienne Reynecke, Adrian Flavin, Dermot Murphy, Denis Buckley, Stewart Maguire, Rodney Ah You, Ronan Loughney, Michael Swift, Mick Kearney, Mike McCarthy, Dave Gannon, John Muldoon, Ray Ofisa, Johnny O'Connor, George Naoupu