Amos to captain the Dragons against Benetton Treviso


Newport Gwent Dragons Head Coach, Kingsley Jones has named Wales International star Hallam Amos as Captain of the team that face Benetton Treviso, Friday night, at the Stadio Monigo.

The 21-year-old will make his Captaincy debut, for the Welsh Region, against Benetton Treviso on Friday night.

The wing commented: “It will be good, it’s not often at 21 that you are a captain and I am looking forward to it. I don’t think it will affect my game too much.

“I captained Gwent U14s so have a lot of experience in the role! But I have played under a lot of good captains now, Lions series winning captains (Sam Warburton and Alun Wyn Jones), Thomas Rhys Thomas, Lewis Evans.

“I have seen the way they deal with things so hopefully I can bring that to the table.”

In addition to the change of captaincy role, there are seven changes to the starting XV that took on Munster Rugby at Rodney Parade last weekend.

Winger Ashton Hewitt, who returned to full fitness from ashoulder injury a few weeks ago, gets his first start of the 2016/17 season for the Dragons. He joins the back three alongside wing Hallam Amos and fullback Carl Meyer. The centre partnership also sees a change as Tyler Morgan is joined by Adam Warren. Fly-half Angus O’Brien retains his place in the team whilst there is a change in scrum-half as Charlie Davies gets the nod.

A change is made in the front row with tighthead prop Lloyd Fairbrother joining loosehead prop Sam Hobbs and hooker Rhys Buckley. The second row includes Cory Hill, who replaces Nick Crosswell, with Rynard Landman. The back row sees flankers James Thomas and Nic Cudd come in alongside number 8 Ed Jackson.

The replacements bench has six changes made to it including Thomas Rhys Thomas, Matthew Screech, Harri Keddie, Luc Jones, Sam Beard and Geraint Rhys Jones who join Thomas Davies and Craig Mitchell.

Newport Gwent Dragons’ team to face Benetton Treviso

15 Carl Meyer, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Adam Warren, 11 Hallam Amos ©, 10 Angus O’Brien, 9 Charlie Davies; 1 Sam Hobbs, 2 Rhys Buckley, 3 Lloyd Fairbrother, 4 Cory Hill, 5 Rynard Landman, 6 James Thomas, 7 Nic Cudd, 8 Ed Jackson.

Thomas Rhys Thomas, Thomas Davies, Craig Mitchell, Matthew Screech, Harri Keddie, Luc Jones, Sam Beard, Geraint Rhys Jones.

Next week the Men of Gwent take on Glasgow Warriors on Friday 30th September, KO 19:35. Tickets are currently available by clicking here or by calling the Rodney Parade Ticket Office on 01633 674990. Alternatively, you can pop to Rodney Parade and visit the Ticket Office between Monday-Friday 9:00am-5:00pm.