DFP Header Area

Edinburgh side named for Munster clash

Guinness PRO12 Rugby Editor

2 Feb 2017

John Hardie

Head Coach Duncan Hodge has named six personnel changes to his Edinburgh Rugby side for tomorrow night’s (Friday 3 February) Guinness PRO12 encounter with Munster at a sold-out Myreside (kick-off 7.35pm) – live on Sky Sports.

Among the changes to the forward pack is John Hardie, who returns to the side for the first time since undergoing corrective surgery on an ankle injury sustained in Scotland’s 2016 Autumn Test against Australia (12 November).

Hodge has made two further amendments to the forward pack with Jack Cosgrove and Murray McCallum set to start at loosehead and tighthead prop respectively.

In the backline scrum-half Sean Kennedy and stand-off Jason Tovey enter the fray, while Phil Burleigh returns to start at inside centre.

Acting Head Coach, Duncan Hodge, said: “We’re looking forward to heading back to a packed house at Myreside on our return to league duties.

“Munster are an outfit heading to Edinburgh on fine form and with a chance of going top of the table, but we’ve also hit a fine vein of form in recent times which gives us a lot of confidence going into the game.

“We’ve got a good blend of youth and experience throughout the squad – with a lot of settled looking combinations – and a team who will want to play an up-tempo and attacking brand of rugby.”

Blair Kinghorn, Damien Hoyland and Tom Brown continue in a settled back-three combination, while Chris Dean moves to outside centre to accommodate for the incoming Burleigh.

Neil Cochrane will captain the side and accompany Cosgrove and McCallum in the front-row, with Ben Toolis and Fraser McKenzie packing down at lock.

Hardie is joined in the back-row by blindside flanker Magnus Bradbury and number eight Cornell Du Preez.

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Munster
Guinness PRO12, Myreside, Friday 3 February, kick-off 7.35pm – live on Sky Sports

15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Tom Brown

10. Jason Tovey
9. Sean Kennedy

1. Jack Cosgrove
2. Neil Cochrane CAPTAIN
3. Murray McCallum
4. Fraser McKenzie
5. Ben Toolis
6. Magnus Bradbury
7. John Hardie
8. Cornell Du Preez


16. Stuart McInally
17. Derrick Appiah
18. Nick Beavon
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. Viliame Mata
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne
22. Michael Allen
23. Rory Scholes

Unavailable due to injury:  Kevin Bryce (shoulder), Alasdair Dickinson (foot), Will Helu (hand), Nasi Manu (shoulder), WP Nel (neck), Alex Northam (Achilles), Rory Sutherland (groin), Kyle Whyte (knee)